Antimatroid, The

thoughts on computer science, electronics, mathematics

End of the Grad School Era

with one comment

cu-winter

If you find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere. ~ Frank A. Clark

After a year-and-a-half of intense work, I’m happy to announce that I’ve completed my Master of Science (M.S.) in Computer Science. It has been a unique experience full of challenges and opportunities that I did not fully anticipate when I quit my job as a Senior Software Developer last year. I met a diverse group of people at different points in their lives who all shared a common goal- to seek out new knowledge and improve themselves; I among them. But it also meant studying something I’m passionate about, and I’m looking forward to putting into practice my new found machine learning knowledge.

When I announced going back to school I talked about making a jump; this idea that there was something better waiting for me out there. After being in the air for the past year-and-a-half, I’ve landed on the west coast where I’ll be writing software related to artificial intelligence research. It’s a departure from the life I’ve built here in Colorado, but it’s also an opportunity to continue advancing my knowledge and cultivating expertise in a unique area; it is a jump to bigger and better things that I hope will be a rewarding experience.

It’s tough to say what opportunities I’ll get to work on side projects in the coming year, but I do hope to work on some miscellaneous projects related to clustering GPS trajectories; put some time into my fitness tracking application Viderefit; and put more time into GPU-based speech recognition system I’ve been steadily working on. As always, check out the archive for old posts, and subscribe by e-mail (see side column), RSS, or Twitter (@antimatroidthe) for the latest happenings.

Written by lewellen

2016-01-19 at 8:00 am

Posted in Announcements

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on the MS degree and welcome to the west and welcome to AI Computing!

    Tavi Truman

    2016-01-19 at 11:33 am


Leave a Reply

