Antimatroid, The

thoughts on computer science, electronics, mathematics

Getting a Development Network Started

leave a comment »

I’ve been in the process of revamping my home network and have been spending time thinking about how I’d like to set up my development environment for my personal projects that I might try and sell one day. Most of the work I do is C#, ASP.NET, PHP, Java, Haskell,… the list goes on, so I’ve been thinking about what kind of solution will allow me to build against different OSes and platforms. The following is a rundown of this thought process and the considerations and decisions made in bringing up my network.

Anytime I do any planning there are a handful of main points that I try to keep focused on:

  • Cost – How much money I’m interested in putting into a project?
  • Time – Total time investment to bring up the hardware and software.
  • Quality – Am I after a quick solution or one that will have long lasting use?
  • Portability – How easy would it be to move the system to another platform.
  • Extensibility – How easy it is to add on new entities.

I know I want to keep the project under 1000 USD- this cost includes hardware, operating system licenses, software licenses, utility costs over the lifetime of the solution and opportunity costs etc. Time wise, I want something that could take an hour a day to get setup, working and tweaked to perfection over the course of a week. I want something that is going to be flexible enough to be useful five years down the road, but is also capable of doing what I want today, thus I want a solution that doesn’t look like it was thrown together with duct tape but also doesn’t look like I spent years planning it out. It is important for me to be able to port my solution to new hardware quickly and effortlessly as well as add on new elements as needed. This is especially important if my environment crashes as a result of hardware failure or software malice.

There are a variety of ecosystems that I’m used to working with. the following table summarizes the residents of each:

Ecosystem Type of Work Runtimes IDE Databases Web Server
.net Websites, Web Services, Clients, Services .net Framework 4.0, Mono 2.6 Visual Studio 2008 Express SQL Server 2008 Express Internet Information Services 7.0
Java Clients JVE 1.6 Eclipse Galileo MySQL Community Server 5.1 Apache 2.2
Haskell Clients NA vim, yi, Leksah MySQL Community Server 5.1 Apache 2.2

These ecosystems also have corresponding environments for dealing with source control, build automation, bug tracking and project tracking. Given the ecosystems I’m interested in, I’ve decided on Subversion, Hudson, Mantis and twiki to manage all of my projects’ artifacts.

Having reviewed what a lot of other shops have done, there are a couple common elements that most development networks incorporate:

  • repo– Source repository and OS specific Database(s).
  • dev– IDEs and frameworks for the development of OS specific applications. (per developer machine, often dual booting)
  • web– OS specific web servers hosting platform specific websites.
  • build– Dedicated build machines for producing assemblies for specific platforms and OSes.

Given these elements, the languages, platforms and operating systems that I’m interested in, I’ve settled on an ideal network that looks like the following:

Important to notice the use of virtualization here. Being able to store a series of ISOs for each of the element groups on a NAS makes it easy to bring up new instances and make backups, thus satisfying my time and portability criteria. As well as satisfying my cost criteria as it is cheaper to purchase a beefy box running several virtual machines than it is to purchase several physical machines. At the time of writing (2009-12), most quad core machines run for about 1000 USD and, and most (consumer) NASes cost about 100-300 USD. Now, I could load up the server up with 1TB storage for an additional 100 USD. Of course, this means I have a single point of failure- which in a home environment may not be a huge deal. In terms of money these two are the main consumers at the hardware level. Everything else already exists on the network.

Lets take a look at the estimated costs:

Item Quantity Amount (USD) Extended Amount (USD)
Dell Studio XPS 8000 1 1100.00 1100.00
1TB Western Digital MyBook 1 120.00 120.00
Windows XP Professional Licenses 4 100.00 400.00
1620.00

That total amount is a little more that initially desired. It is possible to collapse vm-windows-dev and time-thief down to one machine, and then collapse vm-windows-repo, vm-windows-web and vm-windows-build down to a single machine resulting in a cost savings of 300.00 USD from reduced operating system license costs. If the NAS is removed from the picture, that brings us down to 1200.00 which is about as close as I’m going to get to my initial target of 1000 USD. Not sure if this is the final setup that I will end up going with, per usual, I’ll update this post with any new developments.

Written by lewellen

2010-02-01 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

